The Reolink Argus 2 is one such security camera. It’s inexpensive, can work indoors or outdoors, sets up in minutes, and has a very long-lasting battery, although it can also work under solar power that can be purchased separately.

Opening the box for the Reolink Argus 2, you’ll find:

Reolink Argus 2 cameraRechargeable batteryWall mountOutdoor security mount (with hook and loop strap)Skin (for help in weatherproofing)Reset needleMounting hole templateSurveillance signMicro USB cablePack of screwsQuick start guide

Setting it up was very easy. As soon as I inserted the battery into the camera it started talking to me with a prompt. I downloaded the app to my iPhone (also available for Android) and started the setup. This was a matter of following the prompts on the app, though I did misunderstand one instruction that had me stopped for a few minutes when I couldn’t connect to the Wi-Fi. The app’s camera is used to read the QR code on the camera to get it to recognize it. This is then represented in the app, and you have to hold the Reolink Argus 2’s camera to your phone to get it to recognize back the other way. That’s the only step I was missing. After this the app and camera were successfully connected to each other and the Wi-Fi. Looking at the app I had this view of myself from the camera that was sitting on the breakfast bar in my kitchen. You can see that it wasn’t fully charged, and my husband wasn’t going to hang it outside until the following day, so I moved it to the lower counter and plugged it in to fully charge it while I waited. It took some pictures of itself reflected in my black granite countertop when it detected movement around the countertop. Because of the multiple apparatus that is supplied for hanging options, it made it a very easy five- to ten-minute install. It was just a matter of finding the right angle and position and then screwing it in. That’s all it took, as the Reolink Argus 2 is wireless. You can see in the featured image at the top how it is affixed to the siding on our house.

I have since installed the app on my iPad as well, since I am more apt to be on that device. It also has directions for installing it to a computer. By opening the app I can view a livestream of the view from my camera, seen above. This is what I have tonight while I write this review. I can turn my iPad and get a larger landscape view. By clicking the buttons on the bottom I can snap a video of what I am viewing or take video as well. Both photos and videos can be shared immediately to Facebook or Twitter, or you can find the downloads on your device and share as you please. It also includes a microphone so that you can speak with whomever is on your doorstep. Other than viewing the app, it will also take photos on its own when it detects motion nearby. It sends me photos through email and also sends me a push notification. That is my only gripe with the system, that Google doesn’t believe the app is safe. So when I tried to connect the app to my Gmail, Google wouldn’t allow the connection. I could change my Gmail to a less-secure option, but that is definitely not something I want to do. So I created a separate Gmail account just for the camera and left it less-secure. It still makes me a little uncomfortable, though. I’ve caught delivery people on my doorstep and a salesperson, but mainly I catch my family. This is my daughter mugging for the camera. There is also an option to go back and view video up to a certain time, which is helpful if you believe someone was trying to break into your house or want to see who came to your door while you were gone. Reolink provides a handy cloud service where you can upload all your video and images, or you can insert a micro SD card into the camera. I don’t like the idea of the people on my doorstep being in the cloud, so I decided to go with the micro SD card option. However, I have not had a chance to insert the card to use it yet, as I’ve been waiting to bring the camera inside to charge it, and it’s still at 75% after 1-1/2 weeks! That’s a remarkable battery! But if you don’t want to have to bring the camera in occasionally to recharge the battery, there is also a solar panel that is available separately that will recharge the battery. One other incident I want to point out. We had a terrible snowstorm this weekend. I decided to turn the camera on to see how much snow was in front and couldn’t see out of the camera. There was snow or ice on the lens blocking the view. I was worried snow or ice was frozen on it even though the unit is covered in a sort-of rain slicker that is provided to protect it from the weather. However, a few hours later, once I got up and it was daylight again, whatever was on the camera lens was gone. The view was no longer obliterated. The snow outside was not melting yet, so I’m not sure how it was cleared.

Pros and Cons

Pros

InexpensiveEasy setupCan view on multiple devices of on the WebCan run on solar powerExtremely long batteryNothing gets to my door without the camera notifying me

Cons

App Not Friendly with Gmail

Conclusion

All in all, the Reolink Argus 2 is a great camera and inexpensive considering its ease of use, long battery life, and optional solar power add-on. All things considered, I’ll give it 4.5 stars out of 5 and suggest it for anyone who doesn’t want too much fuss but wants to keep their home safe.